Who ruled Israel before it was established in 1948?

October 17, 2011


16th century – 1917 Ottoman Empire ruled the area until World War 1.


1917:  the British took control of Palestine and Syria from the south in the autumn of 1917.

Then came the Balfour declaration, a letter from Lord Balfour stating that ‘the British Government views with favour in Palestine, the establishment of a national home for the Jewish people.’

In April 1920, Britain and France divide the Middle East into mandates. Britain obtained Palestine, Transjordan and Iraq; the French acquired Syria.


1923 – Turkey was established


1946 – Jordan declared an independent state


1946 – Syria gained independence


1948 – Israel declared to be an independent state


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy this password:

* Type or paste password here:

3,894 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress